The ideal wristwatch

I wrote this a while ago, but it seems not to have been incorporated into this web log. Neither have the people from Timex taken heed. This is what I want:

  • Made of plastic, as much as possible. The case certainly should be all one piece of molded plastic. The movement should have as little metal as possible, given the price constraints.
  • Some reasonable color like black, not neon green, day-glow pink, or white.
  • Big and readable.
  • Analog – big hand, little hand, second hand.
  • Mechanical – I’ll take it upon myself to wind it every morning. If it loses a minute a day, that’s not a big deal.
  • Luminous – painted with glow-in-the-dark material.
  • Fabric band, all in one piece – this should pass through slots on the watch, not attach to separate pins. The band should also loop through the buckle. The watch can slide on the band, and the effective length of the band can be changed by moving the buckle.
  • The buckle should be brass.
  • It should have a functional rotating bezel to mark a time.
  • Like me, my watch must be cheap; I’d rather buy a new one every six months than worry about breaking a good one.
  • As it wears out, it should fail gradually, not suddenly with no warning.

Timex used to make something like this, but I haven’t seen one for a long time. If I desperately needed something, I’d probably have to settle for a Casio F91W. It’s no much like what I describe, except for being cheap.

3 Replies to “The ideal wristwatch”

  1. I can’t wear watches anymore. Unless there’s a piece of fabric or leather between the watch and my skin, it will die out very quickly. Mostly I use my cell phone now.

    1. The cell phone is the new pocket watch. Interesting that your watch dies if it’s in direct contact. I wonder if a watch with a plastic case, or a mechanical wind-up watch would have that problem.

Comments are closed.