Cheers to David and Victoria

I never paid much attention to David Beckham or his wife Victoria. He’s a professional soccer player and she became famous as one of the Spice Girls. Now they are being held up as a bad example, because they have four children. That exceeds replacement level, and so works against the elite European scheme to save the world by dying off. Which, put that way, sounds like a less nonsensical plan than I might have thought.

UPDATE 19 July 2011: More midwives are urgently required as the birth rate reached a 40-year high, the Royal College of Midwives has said.

9 Replies to “Cheers to David and Victoria”

  1. I think it’s nobody’s business but theirs. I ascribe to the theory that one child isn’t enough and two children are far too many (smile) — at least that’s how it felt some days when I was raising my Dynamic Duo. :) And I say that if they can afford them and enjoy them, great!!!!

    1. I’d tell them to do otherwise, but if they’re determined to extinguish themselves, what can one do? Besides, any ideology that discourages reproduction deserves to die out.

  2. The article says that “accidental pregnancy rates are very high.”

    Accidental? This always confuses me. Surely these people know how children are conceived. If married couples committed themselves to celibacy after the second child and wives still found themselves pregnant, then maybe we could discuss accidental pregnancies.

    1. “Surely these people know…”

      I wouldn’t presume too much. The traditional understanding of human reproduction may well be inconsistent with the latest research on social construction of gender roles. These are people who think Heather has Two Mommies.

    2. As best I can tell, “accidental” in this case just means “I wasn’t trying to get pregnant.” Had a doctor ask if my last pregnancy was accidental, or if we’d been trying. I think I pointed out that we were intelligent and informed adults that knew what happens when one has sex, but we hasn’t been trying to contracept if that’s what he meant. Kind of feel sorry for doctors– they never know what packed assumptions they’ll be facing with a pregnant woman. NPR even had one writing a series for them that had a huge chip on her shoulder over not having a ring, even though she co-owns a house with her “partner”– spent most of the first article attacking him as a horrible person because of her issues…. Guess that trying to make reality change to suit your views is very stressful, and requires lashing out.

      “Accidental” even gets used when neither was using some form of contraception; I’ve had folks try to tell me that condoms never fail if they’re used properly, and deny the failure rates exist…. (Not that russian roulette becomes “accidental shooting” by varying the non-zero number of bullets, but COME ON! Better than one in six condom-only women end up pregnant in a year of use…)

      1. Doctors are on the front lines, but I have trouble with this myself. It’s increasingly puzzling what to say.

        We’re getting a divorce.
        Oh, I’m so sorry.
        Don’t be sorry!

        Jane [the speaker’s common-law wife of three years] is pregnant.
        Congratulations!
        Huh!? I’m going to Texas. Can you help me move?

        We removed the old man’s feeding tube this morning; shouldn’t be more than a few weeks now.
        Ah…

        I’m moving in with John.
        Congratulations!
        I’m not gay! Not that there’s anything wrong with that…

        If this goes on I’m going to have to just ask directly.

        Krylon moved in yesterday afternoon.
        And how does that make you feel?
        How do you think?
        Sorry, I have no idea.

Comments are closed.