Nothing like the picture in the magazine

That’s what I get for following a recipe from Mother Jones

Obama’s elegant seasoned white beans and saffron basmati rice:

  • 250 grams of beans
  • 250 grams of rice

Soak the beans over night, then drain and rinse. Add the rice and enough water to cover by an inch. Bring it to a boil, then reduce heat to a low simmer. Cook till done. Eat while looking at a picture of roast beef.

With no meat, this is disappointingly insubstantial for a main dish. You’ll be tired of beans and rice well before you run out.

Instead you might be tempted to try Romney’s hearty country bean and chili rice casserole:

  • One cup of beans
  • One cup of rice

Soak the beans over night, then drain and rinse. Add the rice and enough water to cover by an inch. Bring it to a boil, then reduce heat to a low simmer. Cook till done. Eat while looking at a picture of grilled steak and onions.

Unfortunately, Romney’s hearty country bean and chili rice is virtually indistinguishable from Obama’s elegant seasoned white beans and saffron basmati rice.

Both of these would go better with some cornbread.

7 Replies to “Nothing like the picture in the magazine”

  1. I’ll take the cornbread, hold the sugar.
    (At which point the metaphor breaks down, because I just finished making a big pan of cornbread and shared a slab covered with home-made honey butter before putting my eldest down for her nap. Other than being something that would drive the food police utterly insane— real butter, non-organic honey– it doesn’t really work, symbolically. Someone naturally sweet and much maligned?)

    1. Real cornbread with butter and honey beats politically metaphoric cornbread in almost every demographic.

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever had one of those big pretzels. Every time I’m in the mall and think, “hey, I should try one, just to see how good they are”, I see a Cold Stone Creamery or Cinnabun just a few stores down and think, “Or, I could have something I already know is really, really good.”

    Am I missing out on an important part of life here?

    1. I like the pretzels more than cinnabun– partly because I can make those at home. My pretzels suck.

      Cold Stone Creamery lost me forever when I was greatly depressed, hugely pregnant and went there for a nice little pick-me-up, and the guy upsold me to something that really freaking sucked (stale chocolate and a musty cone was the LEAST of the problems) and burnt up all the spare money I had for anything enjoyable during that visit with my sister. It was actually inedible.

  3. A woman at church made some “Starbucks recipe coffeecake” that was really good. I would never buy this at Starbucks, because it would cost like eight dollars, and it’s hard to imagine Starbucks’ being any better.

    I’ve never tried the giant pretzels. If they sold good beer next door I might.

    I’ve never had Coldstone myself, but Paciugo’s gelato is excellent.

    “the guy upsold me to something that really freaking sucked…and burnt up all the spare money I had” – It always comes back to politics, doesn’t it?

Comments are closed.