Toast sandwich

Reading about the toast sandwich, I had to try it. It’s a slice of toast between two slices of buttered, lightly salted and peppered bread. It really is surprisingly sandwich-like, and surprisingly good. Four thoughts occur:

  • Thinly sliced Pepperidge Farm is probably a better choice than Texas toast.
  • Could I make a toasted toast sandwich on the George Foreman Grill?
  • I could have just toasted all three and had a plate of toast.
  • I’ve just eaten three slices of white bread.
One Reply to “Toast sandwich”

  1. The society is so confident in the repast, it will offer £200 to anyone who can create a cheaper alternative.

    The meal, costing 7.5 pence, was first promoted by Victorian food writer Mrs Beeton.

    Hm. Wonder if buying some sort of grain in bulk was considered….

    In Mrs. Beeton’s defense, I seem to remember that toast was rather more difficult then than now.

    I gotta try toast with pepper and salt some time, though.

Comments are closed.