Subway for breakfast

Costs the same as McDonald’s; food and coffee are better

For a quick breakfast at McDonald’s, I get coffee and two Sausage McMuffins. These are toasted English muffins with a sausage patty and a slice of cheese, and they’re pretty good. The total is three dollars plus tax. It’s good coffee, and sometimes I get a deal if the server thinks I look old. The restaurant is always busy and crowded. Usually the food comes quickly, but once in a while there’s an unexpectedly long wait. The parking lot is a bizarre maze full of idiots.

At Subway this morning, I got a toasted flat-bread sandwich made to order with ham, egg, cheese, and green peppers: three dollars, coffee included – they serve Seattle’s Best. This is better food, and the six-inch sandwich was filling. You can have it toasted or not, with your choice of vegetables and cheese. It takes a bit longer to get the food, and it would be hard to eat while driving without making a mess. Subway was much less busy and not crowded at all, though customers came and went steadily as I ate. The server gave me my coffee, saying with more honesty than tact, “The cream and sugar are on top of the garbage can.”

On balance, Subway wins this round.

One Reply to “Subway for breakfast”

Comments are closed.