Dense, in a good way

Here’s a paragraph with a lot in it:

“I will note, for those who don’t already know this, that when I was young and growing up in legally segregated Tennessee – indeed, when I was in high school it was still illegal to teach evolution in the state of Tennessee although Brother Fidelis managed to explain it to us anyway – when I was growing up I thought and said that the law ought to be colorblind, and thus was considered a flaming radical. After I was grown I still believed that, and over time I was assigned to the ranks of the hopeless right wing extremists largely for that view. And I don’t think I have changed that particular view since tenth grade.” — Curiosity, Libya, policy, by Jerry Pournelle

3 thoughts on “Dense, in a good way

  1. Like a simple tax code affords no opportunities to favor a friend or stick it to an enemy, simple equality is too simple to be useful to the parasitic grievance mongers.

  2. It was quite a shock to me when I came to realize that the simplest explanation for the behavior of the Democrats was to assume that they really didn’t want any of the things they claimed to want: racial harmony, sexual equality, happy children, secure old people, etc. and that their real motivations were just what they always accused Republicans of: greed, power hunger, racial hatred, contempt for one entire sex of the human race, etc.

    Seriously, I was in my late 30’s or early 40’s before I began to stop viewing Democrats as well-meaning people with bad ideas of how civilization works. One of the crystallizing moments was hearing a very partisan Democrat of my acquaintance talk in glowing terms about public schools without grades or competition and the next day brag about the highly competitive school he sent his own kids to. I realized then that he didn’t really believe that non-competitive schools were better for children; he wanted his kids to have an advantage by going to a competitive school and he wanted all of the public school kids to have a competitive disadvantage.

    That in a nutshell is the difference between Republicans and Democrats. When a Republican talks about what he wants in public schools, he wants the kids in those schools –black, white, or whatever– to have exactly what he wants his own kids to have. The Democrats don’t.

Comments are closed.