Reading

The novel Von Ryan’s Express, by David Westheimer, is a pretty good military procedural in the tradition of the Horatio Hornblower novels. It’s significantly different from the movie. The plot is better developed in the book; the characters are better developed in the movie. If you’ve seen the movie, the book will have some surprising twists, so I’ll say no more about it.

After the first chapter of Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley, I took it back to the library. It’s basically gross and creepy, and I wasn’t enjoying it. If I want to know more about the subject I’ll read a summary, and watch the evening news. I checked out Brideshead Revisited, by Evelyn Waugh, and Carry On, Jeeves, by P.G. Wodehouse.

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, by L. Frank Baum, is significantly different from the movie, and from the second Oz book, The Marvelous Land of Oz. They remind me a bit of George MacDonald’s fairy tales. In The Marvelous Land of Oz, the Woggle-Bug says:

“…to pronounce a joke that allows both meanings of a certain word, proves the joker a person of culture and refinement, who has, moreover, a thorough command of the language.”

He’s corrected by the other characters.

2 thoughts on “Reading

  1. It’s only loosely on-topic, but until fairly recently, I thought it was P.G. Rodehouse, and that people were just saying it wrong to be funny.

    Now that I know, I feel as if I’ve been the one mocking his name in my head all this time.

Comments are closed.