NRA shirt?

Really?

Initially sympathetic to the fourteen-year-old who now faces a year in jail for refusing to take off his NRA shirt in school; sympathy diminished when I read this:

“On one hand, the arresting officer from the Logan City Police Department, James Adkins, claims that when Jared refused to stop talking, that hindered his ability to do his job, hence, the obstruction charge.” — 14-year-old at the center of “NRA T-Shirt Controversy” now facing possibility of 1 year in jail

The emphasis is mine. Is this really about the shirt?

I hardly care what the eighth grader is saying. If the teacher, the principal, and finally the police tell him to stop talking, he’s already been indulged far more than I would have been at that age, no matter what kind of shirt I was wearing.

Maybe this is a free speech issue. Maybe the kid just wouldn’t shut up. I’d want to find out before getting the tar and feathers.

UPDATE 28 June 2013: The charges have been dropped. I have a bigger problem with the boy’s refusing to stop talking than with his refusing to take off the shirt. In any case, it should not be necessary to call the police for stuff like this.

2 Replies to “NRA shirt?”

  1. I dunno. Seems like one of those cases where there was no crime in the first place and therefor any crime is the fault of the instigators, in this case the authorities. At least I think that is a legal argument. Yes, children can be annoying, but I’m pretty sure being annoying is not a crime, no matter how much we would like it to be.

    1. The teacher and principal are wrong if they forbid some speech but allow other speech based on content. (No idea about the cop; why is it necessary to call the police to deal with school discipline? a question for another day) Still I imagine doing whatever that boy did and trying to explain myself to my father, and I’m not getting anywhere. A year in jail is excessive. Maybe some hours of community service are in order, or maybe he’s not actually guilty of a crime and detention or suspension is in order. If they don’t drop the charges, hopefully a jury will hear all the facts and reach a just conclusion.

Comments are closed.