Sure, why not?

Robert F. Kennedy himself may not have said “There are those who look at things the way they are, and ask why. I dream of things that never were, and ask why not?” though it’s commonly attributed to him. Misattributed to RFK or not, the underlying source may be a play from the early twentieth century by George Bernard Shaw, Back to Methuselah:

THE SERPENT [to Eve]. If I can do that, what can I not do? I tell you I am very subtle. When you and Adam talk, I hear you say ‘Why?’ Always ‘Why?’ You see things; and you say ‘Why?’ But I dream things that never were; and I say ‘Why not?’ — Back to Methuselah, by George Bernard Shaw. Seen in The Campus Utopians, by Jonah Goldberg

See, “The Serpent.” That alone should have made the best and brightest pause before basing their plans to re-build government, society, and culture on a foundation of “why not?” Even if they didn’t know the story. And there’s another hint, because that story is called The Fall of Man.

2 Replies to “Sure, why not?”

Comments are closed.