Civilization and its enemies

At work the door to the rest room is always open first thing in the morning. The cleaners work at night, and they leave them open with the ceiling fan running. That’s fine. I shut the door, thinking I’m doing my bit to maintain civilization. If I don’t shut it, it will still be open at noon. There’s not really a privacy or modesty problem, because there’s an interior wall for a baffle, but it seems to me that if there’s going to be a door on the rest room, then the door needs to be shut. If the door is always open, there is no door. It’s best not to say anything though; just quietly shut the door. Because at another place where this was happening, they took off the door completely. Notionally this was to comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act, but really it was just HR proactively degrading the work environment.

One thought on “Civilization and its enemies

Comments are closed.