The whole world isn’t like the place you live

“…where I live lawns are the buffer zone between my house and wild friggin’ animals who want to kill me and trash my stuff. Only people who haven’t been out of a city think places that aren’t lawns automatically default to pavement. They default to a jungle that’s red of claw and tooth. Woodland creatures won’t stop until they’ve killed your cat, taken a dump in your garage, eaten the tomatoes, sprayed skunk musk on your dog, and chewed the radiator hose off your truck (or in the case of Washington Post hacks, your leased Prius). Nature is not a Sierra Club poster and it’s not your friend. My lawn is an open shooting lane that allows me to pick off furry interlopers before they kill the chickens.” — Lawns Are Soul Crushing – A Fisking

2 Replies to “The whole world isn’t like the place you live”

  1. Wonderful. There are a series of essays in Gilbert, the American Chesterton Society’s mag, by a former Park Service field guy who was f0rced out for making just this point. He kept pointing out that there were real *reasons* why the ranges of wolves and cougars had been reduced, and that introducing them into areas too close to people was just going to get ugly fast. But he was up against a Bambi-loving public and a power hungry bureaucracy – so, we get subspecies declared on biologically dubious grounds so that millions of more acres can be set aside for the Florida Panther and Spotted Owl, even though the owl and panther are genetically indistinguishable from much larger populations elsewhere.

    Besides, raccoons (I think – may be possums) keep eating my tomatoes! But this being California suburbs, all I can do is yell at them. Oh for a clear shooting lane!

    1. Raccoons are a real nuisance. I’d shoot them if we lived outside the city limits. I’ve trapped and released them in the past, but that’s time consuming and possibly against the law itself.

      Deer are in the yard routinely in the mornings, and over the past ten years there have been more sightings of cougars and bobcats, as well as foxes and coyotes. A large prey population draws predators – who’d have thought?

Comments are closed.